2012 – Professional Member of International Association for the Advancement of Space Safety (IAASS).

2010 – Member of ESA Knowledge Management Working Group.

2004 – 2007 Member of NATO/COMEDS Telemedicine Panel - TMED (subgroup of COMEDS: COmmittee of the chiefs of the military MEDical Services in NATO).

2005 – Visiting participant of the eHealth Standardization Focus Group (eHSFG).

2004 – 2006 Visiting participant of EHTEL (European Health Telematics Association) Group of Health Care Authorities (HCA).

2002 – 2006 Member of Telemedicine Alliance team (TMA: ESA, WHO, ITU, with EC)

2000 – 2001 Member of Working Group on Multicultural & International Issues in Spaceflight Research & Healthcare, of the NSBRI (National Space Biomedical Research Institute, Houston, Texas).

1994 – 1998 Member of Working Group for Space Medicine, DGLRM (Deutschen Gesellschaft für Luft- und Raumfahrtmedizin – German Aerospace Association).

1993 – 1998 Member of Committee on Life Sciences, Subcommittee on Human Factors - International Academy of Astronautics/ International Astronautical Federation (IAA/IAF).

1994 – Member of German Association for Aerospace Medicine (DGLRM).

1990 – 1991 HERMES Spaceplane Cockpit Working Group - HSCWG.

1985 – Correspondent in Gravitational Physiology International Union of Physiological Sciences (IUPS), Commission on Gravitational Physiology.